Ministry Top Stories

UP to constitute Eco-Tourism Development Board headed by the CM

In a significant decision, the state Cabinet cleared a proposal to constitute Uttar Pradesh Eco-Tourism Development Board for development and management of tourism infrastructure facilities in the permissible area outside the forest sanctuaries of the state. The board, which will be headquartered in Lucknow, will have UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath as its Chairman, reports Maulshree Seth for The Indian Express.

The members of the eco-tourism development board will be of two types: Government (ex-officio) members and special duty members. Agriculture Minister, Forest Minister, AYUSH Minister, Finance Minister, Tourism Minister, Irrigation Minister, Rural Development Minister, Chairman Uttar Pradesh Forest Corporation, Chief Secretary, Principal Chief Conservator and Head of Department will be members of the board and Additional Chief Secretary/ Principal Secretary/ Secretary will be member secretary of tourism board. Additional Chief Secretary or Principal Secretary Environment, Forest and Climate Change would act at the coordinator.

Representatives of IRCTC, Sashastra Seema Bal Uttar Pradesh, World Wildlife Fund India, Bombay Natural History Society, Turtle Conservation Fund, Katarniaghat Foundation, five nominated environment and tourism experts, will be part of the board as special invitees. In addition, two other reputed institutions working in the field of environment as special invitees will be selected for every two years.

The eco-tourism executive committee will be headed by Chief Secretary and Member Secretary (ex-officio), Additional Chief Secretary/Principal Secretary/Secretary, Tourism (for wildlife protected areas and forest areas) and Member Secretary Director General Tourism (for various tourist places/remaining areas of the state outside the forest area).
The Executive Committee will be responsible for the action required to meet the objectives of the Eco-Tourism Development Board.

The Eco-Tourism Development Board will facilitate carrying out of activities such as trekking, hiking, cycling, Caravan tourism, seaplane and river cruise, adventure tourism along with undertaking development of hotels, resorts and infrastructure facilities, ballooning, jungle camping and also wellness tourism such as Ayurveda, Yoga, naturopathy for the development of the eco-tourism sector. (Source: The Indian Express)


Related Posts

Download Magazine
x Logo: Shield Security
This Site Is Protected By
Shield Security