Top Stories VISA

Sri Lanka announces visa-free entry for 7 countries, including India

As part of a pilot project to boost arrivals, Sri Lanka has announced visa-free entry for India, China, Russia, Malaysia, Japan, Indonesia and Thailand with immediate effect until March 21, 2024.

The country’s foreign affairs minister Ali Sabry made the announcement on social media platform X.

“Cabinet approves issuing of free visas to India, China, Russia, Malaysia, Japan, Indonesia & Thailand with immediate effect as a pilot project till 31 March,” he said.

The move comes five days after a proposal was made in this regard during a Cabinet meeting last week to give free tourist visas to foreigners from five countries who intend to visit Sri Lanka as tourists.

Sri Lanka’s economy heavily relies on inbound tourism, with India accounting for the majority of tourist arrivals.

Related Posts

Download Magazine
x Logo: Shield Security
This Site Is Protected By
Shield Security