Top Stories Trade News

Philippines extends ban on travellers from 7 countries, including India

Philippines government has extended the ban on inbound travel from seven countries, including India, until June 15 to prevent transmission of the Covid-19 variant — B.1617.

According to CNN, the Philippines government announced on Monday the extension of the ban on travellers coming from India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Oman, and the United Arab Emirates.

Philippines President Rodrigo Duterte approved the extension of the restrictions on travellers from the seven countries upon the recommendation of the national task force against Covid-19, Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque said.

In a series of announcements from late April to mid-May, the country barred the entry of travellers from India, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Oman, and the United Arab Emirates until May 31. This is to prevent the spread of the B.1617 “double mutant” variant of the coronavirus first discovered in India.

Even with this directive, however, the Philippines on May 11 confirmed its first two cases of the B.1617 variant — both returning overseas Filipinos who had no travel history from India. Since then, the country has detected a total of 13 people infected with the same variant. (Source: CNN)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Download Magazine
x Logo: Shield Security
This Site Is Protected By
Shield Security