Trade News
Inbound/ Domestic News
Outbound News
Home Inbound / Domestic News Details


Thursday, 14 May, 2020, 12 : 45 PM [IST]

Indian Railways allows for waitlisted tickets in special passenger trains; more trains likely

Given the demand for seats, Indian Railways will allow for limited waitlisted tickets in the special passenger trains. A circular in this regard has already been sent to the zonal railways that for all special passenger trains, and those that will be notified in due course will have new waitlisted train rules.

A senior railway official told Financial Express Online, “We have allowed for waitlisted tickets in the special passenger trains, and the maximum limit for all classes of travel has been defined. This has been done so that in future when more trains with different coach compositions are announced, the rules are clear.” Another railway official said that there is no immediate proposal for more than 15 pairs of trains. However, the railway circular clearly states that the new waitlisted rules are applicable for the special passenger trains that are currently notified, and any more that may be run in the “due course of time”.

The maximum waitlisted limited has been defined for first AC, AC-2 tier, AC-3 tier, Sleeper, AC Chair Car and Executive Chair Car coaches. These are:

Maximum Waitlisting limit for First AC: 20
Maximum Waitlisting limit for Executive Class: 20
Maximum Waitlisting limit for AC-2 tier: 50
Maximum Waitlisting limit for AC 3-tier: 100
Maximum Waitlisting limit for AC Chair Car: 100
Maximum Waitlisting limit for Sleeper: 200

There will be no provision for Reservation Against Cancellation (RAC) tickets. These new waitlisted ticket limits will come into place for the special trains starting from May 22, for which the bookings will open from May 15. No tatkal and premium tatkal quota will be allowed by Indian Railways in these special passenger trains. The refund rules for cancellation of tickets are – 50% for within 24 hours of train departure.

Indian Railways partially resumed passenger train operations from May 12 with 15 pairs of trains that will travel to and from the New Delhi railway station. These Rajdhani Express-style special passenger trains will run from New Delhi to Bilaspur, Mumbai Central, Chennai, Bengaluru, Thiruvananthapuram, Madgaon, Ahmedabad, Dibrugarh, Ranchi, Howrah, Bhubaneswar, Jammu Tawi, Secunderabad, Patna, Agartala and back. (Source: Financial Express)

Post Your commentsPOST YOUR COMMENT
* Name :      
* Email :    
  Website :  
Receive the best of Travel content in your mailbox.
Enter your e-mail ID for our
Weekly e-Newsletter
© Copyright 2015 Saffron Synergies Pvt Ltd